Enable JavaScript to ensure website accessibility
Kappa Delta 1897 Badge - green

Kappa Delta 64th Biennial National Convention Highlights

Were you able to join us for the 64th Biennial National Convention? In case you missed it, we’ve put together a summary of the event just for you!  

Convention is a special time for our sisterhood: we come together to celebrate and reflect on all things Kappa Delta. It’s also a time to acknowledge our accomplishments over the past biennium and recognize those who have inspired excellence. This year’s event was a little atypical, with sisters gathering virtually for National Convention for the first time ever. We’re happy to report it was a huge success!  

Getting Down to Business 

National President Tricia Ruma Spence called the meeting to order on the morning of Saturday, June 26. More than 900 attendees logged on to view sessions, participate in business meetings and enjoy events.  

National Convention began with the State of the Sorority – a recap of the last biennium. Watch it below! 


Delegates representing our collegiate and alumnae chapters, along with National Leadership Team members, elected the 2021-2023 National Council and voted on amendments to the National Bylaws. The amended bylaws will be available in the Resource Library soon! 

We are so excited to announce Kappa Delta’s National Council elected for the next biennium: 

  • National President – Susan Stockton  
  • National Vice President – Emily Ulmer Feinstein 
  • National Vice President-Membership – Courtney Hicks Dickey 
  • National Vice President-Collegians – Laura Beth Hanson McKew 
  • National Vice President-Alumnae – Tove Bichel Thomas 
  • National Vice President-Finance – Sarah Smith Dubbert 


Click here to learn more about these leaders! 

As we wrapped up the business meetings, National President Tricia Ruma Spence took a moment to recognize Executive Director Pamela Nix for a decade of service in her role. In February, Pamela shared her intent to relocate to prioritize time with her family and look toward her next career opportunity, and as Tricia said, “Pamela has had a lasting impact on our sisterhood!” 

The session closed with Tricia also sharing some exciting news – the announcement of the next executive director of the Sorority and Foundation, sister Maggie Patrick Waples. Maggie brings to the role more than 25 years of marketing and business experience working for global higher education, consumer products and technology companies.  

Stay tuned (very soon!) for more information about Maggie! We can’t wait for you to get to know her.  

White Rose Celebration 

Next on the agenda: the White Rose Celebration! Attendees joined for the installation of our National Council members, including the newest members: National Vice President Emily Ulmer Feinstein and National Vice President-Membership Courtney Hicks Dickey, as well as Susan Stockton in her new role as National President.  

Susan recognized outgoing National Council members National President Tricia Ruma Spence and National Vice President-Membership Karen Thomas Fesmire with tributes to their service. Sisters also heard from Beth Martin Langford, the Kappa Delta Foundation Chair and former National President, who gave a tribute to Pamela Nix as she finishes her service as executive director soon. 

Kappa Delta Foundation Inspired Action Event  

After the business meetings concluded, sisters enjoyed being part of a virtual Kappa Delta Foundation celebration, where the Foundation launched opens in a new windowImagine Her Future,” a $2.5 million fundraising campaign focused on increasing scholarship support for collegians and alumnae. For more information about the campaign announcement, read the news release  opens in a new windowhere and check out the campaign video: 


Imagine the difference YOU can make. To invest in the education and ambitions of our sisters, make a donation to “Imagine Her Future”  opens in a new windowhere. 

The Foundation also awarded more than $828,000 in leadership awards and scholarships to more than 380 KD sisters, which will help decrease the financial burden for these women. The Foundation also announced KiDs grant recipients. These opportunities would not be possible without alumnae, collegians and friends of KD investing in our sisterhood. To view the complete list of recipients click  opens in a new windowhere. 

The White Rose Garden is a longstanding tradition of National Convention and is still in bloom! Send virtual roses to sisters, family and friends. Surprise those who have been positive influences in your life with a rose and personalized message from you that will be instantly sent to their inbox. Each rose you send through July 2 will push us closer to our campaign goal of $2.5 million for scholarships. Virtual roses start at just $5.  opens in a new windowSend a rose today! 

Awarding Outstanding Sisters 

To close out an incredible day of sisterhood, National Council announced the biennial awards recognizing exceptional members and chapters:  

Order of the Emerald

Eleven members received the Order of the Emerald award, which recognizes extraordinary service to an alumnae chapter, chapter advisory board, house corporation, Panhellenic and/or state or national Kappa Delta. They are: 

  • Tara Hastings Blackwell (Zeta Psi-Valparaiso) 
  • Ashley Magin Campana (Alpha Pi-William & Mary) 
  • Mary-Helen Holley Douglas (Alpha Xi-Louisville)   
  • Rose Koncak Groce (Epsilon Iota-Missouri) 
  • Linda Taylor Herberger (Alpha Xi-Louisville) 
  • Sally Smith Legg (Zeta-Alabama) 
  • Kristen Hornberger Otto (Epsilon Iota-Missouri) 
  • Rhonda Jones Rouse (Zeta Gamma-Arkansas) 
  • Becky Terjung (Sigma Xi-Bethany/Alpha Rho-Maryland affiliate) 
  • Mary Stimpson Turner (Zeta-Alabama) 
  • Jodi Behrends Wallace (Epsilon Eta-Illinois State) 


Order of the Pearl

Eight alumnae received the Order of the Pearl, which recognizes their outstanding contributions at the national, state or local level in areas other than service to Kappa Delta. They are: 

  • Vera Marie “Bunny” Kaser Badertscher (Sigma Kappa-Ohio State) 
  • Judy Britt Baker (Beta Mu-Bowling Green State) 
  • Rebecca Ramos Birch (Delta Alpha-Texas/El Paso) 
  • Lynda Cook (Sigma Upsilon-Indiana) 
  • Nancy Wright Courtney (Beta Kappa-Tennessee/Chattanooga) 
  • Tania Israel (Sigma Theta-Pennsylvania) 
  • Stacey Karzen Van Scoyoc (Sigma Omicron-Illinois)   
  • Michelle Ly (Epsilon Chi-Baylor) 


Collegiate and alumnae chapters were recognized for their accomplishments in membership, financial responsibility, Panhellenic involvement, community service, marketing efforts and much more. Likewise, chapter advisory board and housing volunteers were commended for their support of chapters. See the full list here

Topping off the day, members of National Council announced the sorority’s highest awards: 

  • Joan Hovde Haines Outstanding House Corporation Award: Theta Zeta-Lehigh  
  • Outstanding Chapter Advisory Board: Zeta Psi-Valparaiso  
  • Marjorie Rowles Stakes Outstanding Alumnae Chapter: Houston, Texas  
  • Council Award: Alpha Mu-Mississippi 


In Memoriam

Each biennium, the Convention Memorial Service is conducted to honor the memory of our Kappa Delta sisters. Though our 64th Biennial National Convention took place virtually, we still honor our sisters and their memory. You can view our In Memoriam list hereopens PDF file .

Who’s ready for the next National Convention? 

Mark your calendars to join us for Kappa Delta’s 65th Biennial National Convention, which will take place June 30 July 3, 2023, at the Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center in National Harbor, Maryland.