Enable JavaScript to ensure website accessibility

Kappa Delta Foundation Recognizes Outstanding Scholars and Leaders at 2018 National Collegiate Training Academy

MEMPHIS, Tennessee – The Kappa Delta Foundation awarded a total of $164,300 in leadership awards and scholarships Jan. 27, 2018, at the Kappa Delta National Collegiate Training Academy in Orlando, Florida.

“These Kappa Deltas are very impressive. It is an honor for the Kappa Delta Foundation to recognize and reward their personal and academic achievements,” said Beth Martin Langford (Kappa Alpha–Florida State), chairman of the Kappa Delta Foundation Board of Directors. The foundation is charged with securing funds for the educational, leadership and charitable purposes of Kappa Delta Sorority. “We can offer these scholarships because we have incredible donors. We are sincerely thankful for their generous support.”

The Corre Anding Stegall Collegiate Leadership Award, named for former National President Corre Anding Stegall, is presented each year to the top echelon of Kappa Delta student leaders. Recipients are chosen based on high academic performance and exemplary leadership within the chapter, on campus and in the community. This award is the highest individual honor Kappa Delta gives to undergraduate members. Each award recipient also receives a $3,000 leadership scholarship to be applied to her 2018-2019 tuition.

The 2018 recipients are:

  • Catherine Buhai, Zeta-Alabama
  • Emily Conklin, Eta Iota-Pace
  • Caroline Doherty, Alpha Delta-Rhodes
  • Emily Gillenwater, Zeta Omega-Memphis
  • Olivia Greer, Gamma Xi-Kentucky Wesleyan
  • Emma Halley, Epsilon Tau-Clemson
  • Elizabeth Hummel, Alpha Chi-Louisiana Tech
  • Mallie Imbler, Alpha Mu-Mississippi
  • Madison Kaufman, Alpha Chi-Louisiana Tech
  • Ashley Lawson, Delta Mu-Newberry
  • Lindsey McCready, Gamma Nu-Miami/Ohio
  • Lindsay Perrin, Delta Lambda-Georgia Southern
  • Emily Rich, Alpha Xi-Louisville
  • Christina Sego, Delta Gamma-Western Kentucky
  • Taylor Shennett, Zeta Omega-Memphis
  • Madeline Vavricek, Pi-Nebraska
  • Neely Walker, Alpha Mu-Mississippi

Additionally, the Kappa Delta Foundation awarded $113,300 in undergraduate scholarships to 58 deserving Kappa Delta collegians. This year’s pool of scholarship applicants was the largest ever, representing 147 chapters and all 19 divisions. On average, the Kappa Delta Foundation receives more than 10 times the number of applicants to the number of scholarships available.

The 2018-2019 recipients are:

  • Beth Martin Langford Scholarship – Madeline Vavricek, Pi-Nebraska
  • Bette Chisholm Riker Beta Pi Scholarships: Kathryn Lahey, Beta Pi-Florida and Kendall Runyan, Beta Pi-Florida
  • Bonnie Purvis Warren Scholarship – Emily Gillenwater, Zeta Omega-Memphis
  • Dorothy Ramage Scholarship – Lindsay O’Toole, Epsilon Tau-Clemson
  • Dot Mears Scholarship – Calli Pollard, Delta Psi-West Georgia
  • Edith Wacksman Scholarship – Alyssa Rinehart, Gamma Epsilon-Florida Southern
  • Elizabeth Banta Mueller Scholarships: Courtney Bergman, Nu-Oklahoma State, Lindsay Perrin, Delta Lambda-Georgia Southern and Bailey Simon, Zeta Gamma-Arkansas
  • Erma Metz Brown Scholarships: Amelia Dowling, Gamma Chi-Lenoir-Rhyne, Molly Kearns, Eta Chi-Elon and Makenzie Miller, Zeta Epsilon-Kansas
  • Ernestine L. Newman Scholarship – Kendra Kitchens, Beta Sigma-Southern Mississippi
  • Founders’ Scholarships: Rachel Hall, Sigma Psi-North Dakota State, Maureen Reilly, Sigma Upsilon-Indiana, Kathryn Speese, Eta Upsilon-North Carolina State and Neely Walker, Alpha Mu-Mississippi
  • Frank & Violet Koken Sigma Kappa Scholarship – Sophie Sikora, Sigma Kappa-Ohio State
  • Grace Follmer and Helen Follmer Lutz Scholarships: Lindsey Wurz, Theta Nu-Purdue and Sydney Yingling, Sigma Psi-North Dakota State
  • Grayce Chase Scholarship – Margaret Woodruff, Sigma Lambda-Auburn
  • Helen Lawrence Grygiel Sigma Iota Scholarship – Hayley Murdoch, Sigma Iota-Washington
  • Jane Anderson Alpha Iota Scholarship – Pria Daniel, Alpha Iota-California/Los Angeles
  • Jean Tucker Stradley -Pi Chapter Scholarship – Brianna Knudson, Pi-Nebraska
  • Jean Tucker Stradley Scholarship – Sandra Moffitt, Gamma Omicron-Wayne State
  • Jody Corry Scholarship – Sarah Manning, Kappa Alpha-Florida State
  • Kentucky – Kim Flood Ryan Spirit Scholarship – Makinsey Lesak, Delta Omicron-Eastern Kentucky
  • Lydia Barousse Scholarship – Holly Cook, Sigma Sigma-Iowa State
  • M. Amanda Gordon Scholarships: Wynn Burrus, Beta Chi-North Carolina/Chapel Hill, Alexa Graf, Alpha Alpha-Michigan State and Olivia Greer, Gamma Xi-Kentucky Wesleyan
  • Margaret Budd Haemer Scholarship – Carlynne Methvin, Delta Upsilon-Tennessee Tech
  • Marilyn Mock Scholarship – Ashley Novak, Beta Zeta-South Carolina
  • Marilyn Sanderson Thompson Scholarship – Melayna Prudhomme, Alpha Rho-Maryland
  • Mary Atkins Hanna Alpha Chi Scholarship – Erika Aamodt, Alpha Chi-Louisiana Tech
  • Minnie Mae Prescott Kappa Delta Staff Risk Management Scholarship – Casey Maloney, Epsilon Gamma-North Georgia
  • Mississippi Scholarship – Megan Wadsworth, Alpha Mu-Mississippi
  • Muriel Johnstone Scholarships: Jessica Fox, Delta Pi-Middle Tennessee State and Macy Replogle, Delta Omega-Mississippi State
  • Myrtle Mae Comer-Loy Sigma Upsilon Scholarship – Shelby Little, Sigma Upsilon-Indiana
  • Pam Barton Staples Scholarship – Kiley Meloan, Beta Kappa-Tennessee/Chattanooga
  • Phyllis M. Meisner Kappa Delta President’s Risk Management Scholarship – Kailee Barnes, Epsilon Omega-Kentucky
  • Reed & Gloria Penington Scholarship – Julia Watson, Zeta Omicron-Wake Forest
  • Rose-Marie Garcia Anderson Beta Tau Scholarships: Sydney Hamburg, Beta Tau-Vanderbilt and Eliza Moldow, Beta Tau-Vanderbilt
  • Rose-Marie Garcia Anderson Gamma Nu Scholarships: Haley Miller, Gamma Nu-Miami/Ohio and Lindsey McCready, Gamma Nu-Miami/Ohio
  • Ruth Rouse Dolberg Scholarship – Sophia Lester, Mu-Millsaps
  • Sara and Melissa Beta Rho Scholarship – Sarah Michael, Beta Rho-San Diego State
  • Sarah Davies Kravik Sigma Tau Scholarship – Madalyn Ford, Sigma Tau-Washington State
  • Sue Johnson Ernest Memorial Texas Alumnae Scholarship – Halle Brazda, Sigma Epsilon-Texas
  • The Cheryl Grant Sizer Scholarship – Elisabeth DiGiulio, Sigma Omicron-Illinois
  • The Pamela Nix Scholarship – Lilly Makee, Eta Gamma-John Carroll
  • Vada May Corkery State of Washington Scholarship – Hannah Gavin, Sigma Iota-Washington
  • Virginia Cowan Pierson Scholarship – Hayley Eckert, Eta Alpha-Texas A&M/College Station
  • Wesley H. and Marybel R. Flint Butler Alpha Kappa Scholarships: Natalie Olmos, Alpha Kappa-Oregon State and Monica Kunzel, Alpha Kappa-Oregon State

Established in 1981, the Kappa Delta Foundation is a 501(c)3 organization whose mission is to secure funds for the educational, leadership and charitable purposes of Kappa Delta Sorority, a national organization for women with more than 260,000 members, 166 active collegiate chapters and more than 500 chartered alumnae chapters nationwide. The foundation is supported by member donations and bequests that fund programs and initiatives such as scholarships, internships, grants and more. Kappa Delta National Headquarters is in Memphis, Tenn. For more information, visit www.kappadelta.org/foundation.