Enable JavaScript to ensure website accessibility

Kappa Delta Foundation Recognizes Outstanding Scholars and Leaders

(MEMPHIS, TN) – The Kappa Delta Foundation awarded a total of $159,500 in scholarships and leadership awards Feb. 6, 2016, at the sorority’s National Collegiate Training Academy in Orlando, Florida.

The Corre Anding Stegall Collegiate Leadership Award named for former National President Corre Anding Stegall, is presented each year to the top echelon of Kappa Delta student leaders. Recipients are chosen based on high academic performance and exemplary leadership within the chapter, on campus and in the community. This award is the highest individual honor Kappa Delta gives to undergraduate members. Each award recipient also receives a $3,000 scholarship to be applied to her 2016-17 tuition.

“The foundation is delighted to support the educational endeavors of these bright young women,” said Bonnie Warren (Beta Sigma-Southern Mississippi), chairman of the Kappa Delta Foundation Board of Directors. “We are sincerely thankful for our generous donors who make these scholarships possible.”

The 2016 recipients are:

  • Lydia Allen, Beta Lambda-Georgetown
  • Phoebe Bauer, Zeta Omega-Memphis
  • Camille Beste, Epsilon-Louisiana State
  • Allie Burgard, Alpha Epsilon-Tennessee/Knoxville
  • Whitney Cipolla, Beta Epsilon-Tulsa
  • Lucy Dang, Zeta Omega-Memphis
  • Vanessa Daves, Pi-Nebraska
  • Mallory Deeter, Eta Upsilon-North Carolina State
  • Chandler Hendrix, Delta Mu-Newberry
  • Sara Hrivnak, Beta Kappa-Tennessee/Chattanooga
  • Brittany James, Beta Epsilon-Tulsa
  • Ashling Kelly, Epsilon Upsilon-Cal Poly/Pomona
  • Rebekah Koehn, Zeta Psi-Valparaiso
  • Rhiannon Moore, Gamma Xi-Kentucky Wesleyan
  • Anna Price, Zeta-Alabama
  • Kacey Roberts, Delta Pi-Middle Tennessee State
  • Kalee Royster, Beta Nu-Toledo
  • Julie Spangler, Sigma Phi-Georgia
  • Leah Travis, Mu-Millsaps
  • Allison Young, Alpha Upsilon-Birmingham-Southern

Additionally, the Kappa Delta Foundation awarded $99,500 in undergraduate scholarships to 51 deserving Kappa Delta collegians. The 2017-2018 recipients are:

  • Alberta E. Scott Scholarship – Dana Le, Sigma Epsilon-Texas-Austin
  • Beth Martin Langford Scholarship – Justine Avila, Gamma Iota- San Jose State
  • Bette Chisholm Riker Scholarships – Danielle Vollender, Beta Pi-Florida; Emma Rutherford, Beta Pi-Florida
  • Dorothy Ramage Scholarship – Caylin Rozelle, Beta Mu- Bowling Green State
  • Elizabeth Banta Mueller Scholarships – Annie Carlisle, Alpha Chi-Louisiana Tech; Julie Spangler, Sigma Phi-Georgia; Kari Porter, Sigma Gamma-Kansas State
  • Erma Metz Brown Scholarships – Hannah Wirt, Gamma Chi-Lenoir-Rhyne; Shelby Lesak, Eta Eta- Northern Kentucky; Mallory Breaux, Alpha Chi-Louisiana Tech
  • Ernestine L. Newman Scholarship – Stacey Richani, Eta Psi- North Carolina/Charlotte
  • Founders’ Scholarships – Kalee Royster, Beta Nu-Toledo; Katelyn Holaday, Eta Gamma-John Carroll; Makayla Uebelhor, Alpha Xi-Louisville; Sarah Price, Delta Gamma-Western Kentucky
  • Frank & Violet Koken Scholarship – Hannah Williams, Sigma Kappa-Ohio State
  • Grace Follmer/Helen Follmer Lutz Scholarships – Amanda Cassidy, Alpha Theta-Vermont; Hailey Hlebec, Sigma Phi-Georgia
  • Grayce Chase Scholarship – Morgan Peoples, Beta Sigma-Southern Mississippi
  • Helen Lawrence Grygiel Scholarship – Daisy James, Sigma Iota-Washington
  • Jean Tucker Stradley Scholarship – Tricia Grywatch, Gamma Gamma-High Point
  • Jean Tucker Stradley Pi Chapter Scholarship – Danielle Lamer, Pi-Nebraska
  • Jody Corry Scholarship – Allison Latella, Beta Mu-Bowling Green State
  • Kentucky Kim Flood Ryan Spirit Scholarship – Rhiannon Moore, Gamma Xi-Kentucky Wesleyan
  • Lydia Barousse Scholarship – Kali Zamkoff, Beta Theta-Pennsylvania State
  • M. Amanda Gordon Scholarships – Brianna Haislip, Theta Eta-Old Dominion; Darby Hughes, Delta Omega-Mississippi State; Jacqueline Pecaro, Omega Chi-Cornell
  • Margaret Budd Haemer Scholarship – Raeann Hanlon, Sigma Sigma-Iowa State
  • Marilyn Mock Scholarship – Mary Kate Schaefer, Epsilon Omega-Kentucky
  • Marilyn Sanderson Thompson Scholarship – Kit D’Anthony, Gamma Gamma-High Point
  • Marion Day Mullins Scholarship – Carolyn Heger, Epsilon Iota-Missouri
  • Mary Atkins Hanna Scholarship – Emily Bishop, Alpha Chi-Louisiana Tech
  • Minnie Mae Prescott Kappa Delta Staff Risk Management Scholarship – Abigail Vogel, Alpha Xi-Louisville
  • Mississippi Scholarship – Caitlin Ivey, Gamma Psi-Delta State
  • Muriel Johnstone Scholarships – Lucy Dang, Zeta Omega-Memphis; Zoe Ball, Zeta Chi-Idaho
  • Myrtle Mae Comer-Loy Sigma Upsilon Scholarship – Jessica Ward, Sigma Upsilon-Indiana
  • Pam Barton Staples Scholarship – Lisa Ouyang, Eta Mu-Georgia College and State
  • Phyllis M. Meisner Kappa Delta President’s Risk Management Scholarship – Emma Schell, Delta Iota-Murray State
  • Reed & Gloria Penington Scholarship – Katie Webb, Beta Mu-Bowling Green State
  • Rose-Marie Garcia Anderson Beta Tau Scholarships – Jordyn Margolis, Beta Tau-Vanderbilt; Lauren Schultz, Beta Tau-Vanderbilt
  • Rose-Marie Garcia Anderson Gamma Nu Scholarships – Jacqueline Craig, Gamma Nu-Miami; Kara Thompson, Gamma Nu-Miami
  • Ruth Rouse Dolberg Scholarship – Lauren Johnson, Epsilon Omega-Kentucky
  • Sarah Davies Kravik Scholarship – Malia Moreland, Sigma Tau-Washington State
  • Sue Johnson Ernest Memorial Texas Alumnae Scholarship – Claire Fowler, Zeta Alpha-Texas Tech
  • Virginia Cowan Pierson Eta Alpha Scholarship – Haylee Matecko, Eta Alpha-Texas A&M
  • Virginia Cowan Pierson Mu Scholarship – Casey Park, Mu-Millsaps

Graduate scholarship awards will announced in spring 2016.

CONTACT: Audrey Waggoner, 901.746.3647, audrey.waggoner@kappadelta.orgcreate new email

Established in 1981, the Kappa Delta Foundation is a 501(c)3 organization whose mission is to secure funds for the educational, leadership and charitable purposes of Kappa Delta Sorority, a national organization for women with more than 230,000 members, 163 active collegiate chapters and more than 500 chartered alumnae chapters nationwide. The foundation is supported by member donations and bequests that fund programs and initiatives such as scholarships, internships, grants and more. Kappa Delta National Headquarters is in Memphis, Tennessee.