Enable JavaScript to ensure website accessibility

Kappa Delta Foundation Presents $60,000 in Orthopaedic Research Awards

MEMPHIS, Tenn. – The Kappa Delta Foundation presented three Kappa Delta Orthopaedic Research Awards totaling $60,000 at the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) Annual Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana, on March 8, 2018. Often referred to as the Nobel Prize of orthopaedic research, the awards were presented by Kappa Delta Foundation Board Chairman Beth Martin Langford to researchers who made key discoveries pertaining to many leading orthopaedic advances.

The Kappa Delta Ann Doner Vaughn Award was presented to Johnny Huard, Ph.D., for his research on the use of adult stem cells, blood vessels and angiogenesis in musculoskeletal tissue repair. Dr. Huard is chief scientific officer and director of the Center for Regenerative Sports Medicine at the Steadman Philippon Research Institute, professor and vice chair for research in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at the University of Texas Health Science Center in Houston and director of the Center for Tissue Engineering and Aging Research at the Brown Foundation Institute for Molecular Medicine.

The Kappa Delta Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award was presented to Paul E. Beaulé, M.D., FRCSC, professor and head of the Division of Orthopaedic Surgery in the Department of Surgery at The Ottawa Hospital and the University of Ottawa for his research identifying the origins of the hip pistol grip/CAM deformity and how it can lead to joint degeneration. The research was co-authored by George Grammatopoulos, M.D., FRCS, Ph.D.; Andrew Speirs, Ph.D., assistant professor at Carleton University; Geoffrey Ng, Ph.D., research associate at the Imperial College London; Gerd Melkus, Ph.D., assistant professor at the University of Ottawa; Sasha Carsen, M.D., orthopaedic surgeon at the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario and assistant professor of surgery at the University of Ottawa; Hanspeter Frei, Ph.D., associate professor at Carleton University; Kawan Rakhra, M.D., head of the Musculoskeletal Imaging Section at The Ottawa Hospital and associate professor at the University of Ottawa; and Mario Lamontagne, Ph.D., professor at the University of Ottawa.

The Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award was presented to Nelly Andarawis-Puri, Ph.D., Clare Boothe Luce assistant professor at Cornell University, Nancy and Peter Meinig Family Investigator in the Life Sciences department and adjunct assistant scientist at the Hospital for Special Surgery in New York, for her research on tendon healing and remodeling. Evan L. Flatow, M.D., professor of orthopaedic surgery and president of Mount Sinai West in New York, co-authored the research.

Kappa Delta and the Kappa Delta Foundation are committed to making a difference in the lives of others through distinguished partnerships with organizations like the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. Since 1950, more than 180 orthopaedic surgeons and researchers have received an AAOS award from Kappa Delta.

Kappa Delta Sorority is a national organization for women with nearly 260,000 members, more than 500 chartered alumnae chapters and 166 active collegiate chapters.

Established in 1981, the Kappa Delta Foundation is a 501(c)3 organization whose mission is to secure funds for the educational, leadership and charitable purposes of Kappa Delta Sorority. The foundation is supported by member donations and bequests that fund programs and initiatives such as scholarships, internships, grants and more. Kappa Delta National Headquarters is in Memphis, Tennessee. For more information, visit www.kappadelta.org/foundation.