Enable JavaScript to ensure website accessibility

Kappa Delta Sorority’s Convention Closes with the Announcement of Top Award Winners


MEMPHIS, Tennessee — Kappa Delta Sorority’s 63rd Biennial National Convention came to a close tonight at the White Rose Banquet with the announcement of the sorority’s top four awards recognizing the most outstanding collegiate chapter, chapter advisory board, chapter house corporation and alumnae chapter. The 2019 recipients are: 

  • Council Award: Alpha Chi-Louisiana Tech  
  • Marjorie Rowles Stakes Outstanding Alumnae ChapterGreater Atlanta Day, Georgia 
  • Outstanding Chapter Advisory BoardEpsilon Tau-Clemson 
  • Joan Hovde Haines Outstanding House Corporation Award: Sigma Iota-Washington 

During the four-day event, June 27-30, 2019, nearly 1,100 Kappa Deltas and guests gathered at the Sheraton Dallas for a time of inspiration and sisterhood including the sorority’s rich traditions and pageantry and inspiring speakers, including Evelyn Piazza, Rae Ann Gruver and Katy Feldner, family members of fraternity men who died as a result of hazing; Alex Sheen, founder of the social movement “Because I Said I Would;” and a panel of successful Kappa Delta members. Convention also provided the opportunity to recognize outstanding alumnae, collegiate leaders and chapter accomplishments in academics, community service, operations and other areas. Click here to view the full list of award winners. 

The sorority’s supreme governing body, which includes all National Leadership Team members and delegates from collegiate and alumnae chapters, approved revised National Bylaws and elected the women who will lead Kappa Delta in the 2019-2021 biennium. The 2019-2021 National Council members are: National President Tricia Ruma Spence, National Vice President Susan Stockton, National Vice President-Membership Karen Thomas Fesmire, National Vice President-Collegians Laura Beth Hanson McKew, National Vice President-Alumnae Tove Bichel Thomas and National Vice President-Finance Sarah Smith Dubbert. They will serve along with ex officio council members Julie Landgren Johnson, National Panhellenic Conference delegate, and Pamela Nix, Kappa Delta Sorority and Foundation executive director.  

Kappa Delta’s 64th Biennial National Convention will take place July 1-5, 2021, at the Gaylord Rockies Resort and Convention Center in Denver, Colorado. 

Kappa Delta Sorority is a national organization for women with more than 271,000 members, 168 active collegiate chapters and 224 active alumnae chapters nationwide. Kappa Delta is active in a number of philanthropic endeavors, including the prevention of child abuse and confidence-building programming with Girl Scouts of the USA. In 2009, the sorority created the Confidence Coalition, an international movement to promote confidence in women and girls. In 2010, Kappa Delta established International Girls Day to empower girls to reach their potential. It also created International Women’s Friendship Month for women everywhere. Kappa Delta’s national headquarters is in Memphis, Tennessee. For more information, visit  opens in a new windowwww.kappadelta.org.