Give to KD

Update in Progress.

Our Notable KDs page is under construction, but don’t let that stop you from exploring the sisterhood of Kappa Delta! Take a look around or follow us on social media to learn more. Thank you for your patience.


Brooke Anderson ( Sigma Phi-Georgia) is an Emmy and Peabody award-winning TV host and journalist. She co-hosted Entertainment Tonight, The Insider and HLN’s Showbiz Tonight. Her assignments have included covering the Royal Wedding of Prince William and Kate in London, the Sundance Film Festival, the Oscars, Emmys, Golden Globes and Fashion Week.


Patricia “Sister” Wood Barnes (Delta Delta-Troy) began baking her now famous rolls in the kitchen of her home for her small catering business and for friends and family using recipes belonging to her grandmother and other family members. Today Sister Schubert’s Homemade Rolls is a multimillion dollar corporation. Her rolls can be found in the freezer section of grocery stores in more than half the states in the U.S.


Pearl Sydenstricker Buck (Theta-Randolph-Macon) is the renowned author of over 70 books. She is the first American woman to win the Nobel Prize in literature, and she also won a Pulitzer Prize. In 1942, Pearl and her husband founded the East and West Association, dedicated to cultural exchange and understanding. In 1949, she established Welcome House, the first international, interracial adoption agency.


Ruth Johnson Colvin (Lambda-Northwestern) is the founder of Literacy Volunteers of America, now ProLiteracy Worldwide. The organization works with correctional facilities, adult educational programs, schools, libraries, industry and other community programs in 42 states. An inductee of the National Women’s Hall of Fame, Ruth is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

Lynne Doughtie KPMG

Lynne Martin Doughtie (Epsilon Pi-Virginia Tech) is U.S. chairman and CEO of KPMG, one of the world’s leading audit, tax and advisory services firms. She leads the KPMG Women’s Leadership Summit, which focuses on getting more women into the C-suite, and was named to Fortune magazine’s Most Powerful Women in Business and Woman of Achievement by the National Association of Female Executives.


Bonnie Dunbar (Sigma Iota-Washington) is considered one of the most experienced astronauts in the world, having served as a mission specialist on five space flights. She was inducted into the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame and the Women in Technology International Hall of Fame, one of five women in the world so honored. NASA recognized her accomplishments with its Outstanding Leadership Award.


Georgia O’Keeffe (Beta-Chatham Episcopal) is one of America’s most important and successful artists. She is best known for her large-scale depictions of flowers as if seen close up. Georgia is a recipient of the nation’s highest civilian honor, the Medal of Freedom. Her legacy continues at the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum in Santa Fe, New Mexico, where Kappa Delta is a supporter of the museum’s Art and Leadership Program for Girls.


Claudia Kennedy (Alpha Delta-Rhodes) is the U.S. Army’s first female three-star general. During her career, she received numerous awards and decorations, including the Legion of Merit, the Defense Meritorious Service Medal, the Meritorious Medal, the Army Commendation Medal, the Army Staff Identification Badge and the Living Legacy Patriot Award.


Suzy Spafford Lidstrom (Beta Rho-San Diego State) created Suzy’s Zoo greeting cards and stationery products while still a student at San Diego State. Now marketed worldwide, her products feature more than 200 whimsical animal characters such as rabbits, turtles, snails and ostriches. Suzy won the National Cartoonist Society Greeting Card Award in 1996.


Patricia Polito Miller (Sigma Upsilon-Indiana) is co-founder of Vera Bradley Designs, a popular line of handbags, luggage and accessories, and the Vera Bradley Breast Cancer Foundation. She served as secretary of commerce for the state of Indiana and is the former CEO of the Indiana Economic Development Corporation. She was recognized with the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year award for her accomplishments.

Cara Mund square

Cara Mund (Theta Gamma-Brown) was crowned Miss America 2018. She was a founding member of the chapter at Brown University, where she served as chapter president and VP-community service. At 14 years old, Cara created North Dakota’s annual Make-A-Wish fashion show and was recognized for her efforts by former President Barack Obama. She is a national dance champion and trained with the Radio City Rockettes.


Gloria Ray (Gamma Delta-East Tennessee State) established the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame and was named the Knoxville Sports Hall of Fame Administrator of the Year. She was the first president of the Southeastern Conference Women’s Athletic Directors. The University of Tennessee Athletic Department honored Gloria by creating a leadership award in her name.

Lara Spencer Good Morning America

Lara Von Seelen Spencer (Beta Theta-Pennsylvania State) is a co-anchor for ABC’s Good Morning America and a correspondent for Nightline and ABC News. Previously, she was the host of The Insider from 2004 to 2011 and a regular contributor to CBS’s The Early Show. She hosts the show Flea Market Flip on both HGTV and the Great American Country channel.


Janet Marie Smith (Delta Omega-Mississippi State) is a renowned architect and urban planner. She oversaw upgrades to Dodger Stadium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, Fenway Park and Turner Field. Her preservation of historic Fenway Park placed the ballpark on the National Historic Register. Janet Marie was recognized by the Sports Business Journal Game Changers: Women in Sports Business.


Leigh Anne Tuohy (Alpha Mu-Mississippi) and her husband, Sean, adopted Michael Oher, an at-risk teenager, and encouraged him to fulfill his dream of becoming a professional football player. Their story was the basis of the book and blockbuster film, The Blind Side. The Tuohys established the Making it Happen Foundation in 2010 to promote awareness and provide hope for children at risk.

hear our stories find a chapter meet our leadership